

# FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

December 15, 2016

Contact: Ellen Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

# **Biophysical Society Announces Winners of 2017 CPOW Travel Awards**

Rockville, MD— The Biophysical Society has announced the winners of its annual CPOW Travel Awards to attend the Biophysical Society's 61<sup>st</sup> Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana, February 11-15, 2017. CPOW, the Society's Committee for Professional Opportunities for Women, has initiated these travel fellowships to increase the number of women biophysicists and encourage their participation at the Meeting. The recipients of this competitive award must be female postdoctoral fellows or mid-career scientists presenting a poster or oral presentation at the conference. Each awardee receives a travel grant and will be recognized at a reception on Saturday, February 11, at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center.

The 2017 recipients of the CPOW Travel Award, along with their affiliation and abstract title, are:

Teresa Aman, University of Washington, HCN CHANNEL GATING STUDIED WITH TMFRET AND A FLUORESCENT NONCANONICAL AMINO ACID.

Anna Blice-Baum, Sam Houston State University, CARDIAC-SPECIFIC EXPRESSION OF VCP/TER94 RNAI OR DISEASE ALLELES DISRUPTS DROSOPHILA HEART STRUCTURE AND IMPAIRS FUNCTION.

Lusine Demirkhanyan, University of Illinois at Chicago, ASSESSMENT OF ENDOGENOUS AND EXOGENOUS MODULATORS OF THE TRPM7 CHANNEL IN PLANAR LIPID BILAYERS.

Maria Hoernke, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität, GUV AND LUV LEAKAGE: HOW ALL-OR-NONE AND GRADED LEAKAGE SCALE WITH VESICLE SIZE.

Pooja Jadiya, Temple University, GENETIC RESCUE OF MITOCHONDRIAL CALCIUM EFFLUX IN ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE PRESERVES MITOCHONDRIAL FUNCTION AND PROTECTS AGAINST NEURONAL CELL DEATH.

Marthe Ludtmann, UCL, Institute of Neurology, DIRECT MODULATION OF THE MITOCHONDRIAL PERMEABILITY TRANSITION PORE BY OLIGOMERIC ALPHA-SYNUCLEIN CAUSES TOXICITY IN PD.

#### **OFFICERS**

#### President

Suzanne Scarlata Worcester Polytechnic Institute

#### President-Elect

Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

### Past-President

Edward Egelman University of Virginia

### Secretary

Frances Separovic
University of Melbourne

### Treasurer

Paul Axelsen
University of Pennsylvania

### **Executive Officer**

Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

#### COUNCIL

Olga Boudker
Jane Clarke
Bertrand Garcia-Moreno
Ruth Heidelberger
Kalina Hristova
Robert Nakamoto
Arthur Palmer
Gabriela Popescu
Joseph D. Puglisi
Michael Pusch
Erin Sheets
Joanna Swain

## BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Leslie Loew

# **COMMITTEE CHAIRS**

### Awards

Betsy Komives

# Early Careers

Bert Tanner

## Education

Gina MacDonald

### Finance

Paul Axelsen

## Inclusion and Diversity

Marina Ramirez-Alvarado

# **International Relations**

Daumantas Matulis

### **Member Services**

Frances Separovic

# Membership

Juliette Lecomte

# Nominating

Erin Sheets

# **Professional Opportunities**

for Women (CPOW)

Gabriela Popescu

### **Public Affairs**

Edward Egelman

### **Publications**

Olaf Anderson

### Thematic Meetings Richard Aldrich

Yoojin Oh, Johannes Kepler University, Linz, CURLI MEDIATE BACTERIAL ADHESION TO FIBRONECTIN VIA A TENSILE COLLECTIVE BINDING NETWORK.

Laura Orellana, Science for Life Laboratory, TRAPPING ON-PATHWAY INTERMEDIATES FOR LARGE SCALE CONFORMATIONAL CHANGES WITH COARSE-GRAINED SIMULATIONS.

Hagit Peretz Soroka, University of Manitoba, NOVEL MECHANISM FOR DRIVING AMOEBOID-LIKE MOTILITY OF HUMAN NEUTROPHILS UNDER AN ELECTRIC FIELD, BASED ON INTRACELLULAR PROTON CURRENTS AND CYTOPLASM STREAMING.

Elsa Ronzier, University of Rochester, STATIN THERAPY IN LONG QT SYNDROME TYPE II.

Sarah Rouse, Imperial College London, STRUCTURAL AND MECHANISTIC INSIGHTS INTO TRANSPORT OF FUNCTIONAL AMYLOID SUBUNITS ACROSS THE *PSEUDOMONAS* OUTER MEMBRANE.

Siobhan Toal, University of Pennsylvania, DETERMINING THE ROLE OF N-TERMINAL ACETYLATION ON  $\alpha$ -SYNUCLEIN FUNCTION.

Shelli Frey, Gettysburg College, THE ROLE OF SPHINGOMYELIN AND GANGLIOSIDE GM1 IN THE INTERACTION OF POLYGLUTAMINE PEPTIDES WITH LIPID MEMBRANES.

Rebecca Howard, Stockholm University, TRANSMEMBRANE STRUCTURAL DETERMINANTS OF ALCOHOL BINDING AND MODULATION IN A MODEL LIGAND-GATED ION CHANNEL.

Sabina Mate, INIBIOLP-CONICET-UNLP, ORIENTATIONAL PROPERTIES OF DOPC/SM/CHOLESTEROL MIXTURES: A PM-IRRAS STUDY.

Ekaterina Nestorovich, The Catholic University of America, LIPID DYNAMICS AND THE ANTHRAX TOXIN INTRACELLULAR JOURNEY.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry. For more information on these awards, the Society, or the 2017 Annual Meeting, visit <a href="https://www.biophysics.org">www.biophysics.org</a>.